Adventures in Time by Dominic Sandbrook

publication date: Jul 26, 2021
author/source: Anne Coates

The Six Wives of Henry VIII by Dominic Sandbrook The Second World War by Dominic Sandbrook

The Adventures in Time series brings the past alive for twenty-first century children. These stories are every bit as exciting as those of Harry Potter or Matilda Wormwood. The only difference is they actually happened...

The Six Wives of Henry VIII

Step through these pages into the Tudor world: a dangerous place, where one miss-step could cost your life. Through the eyes of Henry VIII's six very different queens, from a brave Spanish princess to a wise English widow, Dominic Sandbrook takes us on a thrilling journey through the twists and turns of a dramatic age. For no one is safe from the wheel of fortune: it can take you from a golden throne to the Tower of London...

The Second World War

Prepare to enter the most dramatic conflict the world has ever seen, as the author takes us on a spine-tingling, heart-stopping adventure. We witness the Second World War first-hand through the eyes of ordinary people living in extraordinary times, from the women who worked all night in factories to the chess players who cracked unbreakable codes. Because in total war, no life is left untouched...

Adventures in Time is written for children aged eight to 12 but certainly will be enjoyed and appreciated by older children (and adults).

Sandbrook brings the past to life in perfectly pitched narratives that read like exciting fiction but, of course, they are grounded in fact and tailored to the UK curriculum.

Highly recommended. 

PWT rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

This series (there are two more scheduled for November) by Donald Sandbrook is published by Particular Books and is available from bookshops and Amazon: 

The Adventures in Time: The Six Wives of Henry VIII: The Wives of Henry VIII

The Adventures in Time: The Second World War: The Second World War